A Harvest of Ash and Blood

D.J. Molles

Theo Solomon (Narrator)

08-08-23

17hrs 22min

Abridgement

Unabridged

Genre

Fiction/Fantasy

As low as $18.99

Ships within 1-2 business days (In Stock)

Ships within 1-2 business days when available

Free shipping (UPS Ground)

Play Audio Sample

08-08-23

17hrs 22min

Abridgement

Unabridged

Genre

Fiction/Fantasy

Description

“A Harvest of Ash and Blood is a chilling, unnerving, absolutely wild blend of fantasy, action, magic, and mayhem. D.J. Molles goes for the throat with this one!” Jonathan Maberry, New York Times bestselling author

Finalist for the Voice Arts Award in Fantasy
A Transfer Orbit Pick of This Month's Books to Look For 
An io9/Gizmodo Pick of the Month's New Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror

From New York Times bestselling author D.J. Molles comes a brand-new action-packed fantasy adventure that will leave you on the edge of your seat.

What is the price of magic? Not the magic of tricks and illusions, but the kind that heats cities, powers armies, and transforms continents. Magic that forges empires. The Brannic Empire owes its existence to this magic, and for those in power, no price is too great. Even when that price is their own children. For it is the ashes of those with magical abilities that the Church of Alchemy harvests to fuel this machine of empire. So the furnaces burn, and the empire grows. And they call it progress.

Trying to escape a lifetime of regrets—and outrun his own demons—veteran soldier Lochled Thatcher embarks on the Fourth Crusade to Leftland, a country rich in magic. Desperate to save her brothers, Rony joins Lochled’s squad only to discover that war is very different from all the songs and fancy speeches. As politics and power clash, Kayna, a Seeker, and Ord, a priest of the Church of Alchemy, find their foundations of loyalty and faith shaken and crumbling. In this theater of chaos, magic, and treachery, soldier and priest alike will find their humanity in as much danger as their lives. Will they lose themselves to cruelty and deception? Or can one good action reverse the course of generations of evil?

A bold, brutal look at war and belief, A Harvest of Ash and Blood is a sweeping epic fantasy perfect for fans of The Witcher and Joe Abercrombie.

Praise

“A Harvest of Ash and Blood is a chilling, unnerving, absolutely wild blend of fantasy, action, magic, and mayhem. D.J. Molles goes for the throat with this one!” Jonathan Maberry, New York Times bestselling author

“A no-holds-barred dive into a gritty fantasy world from a true master of multiple genres. Molles has crafted one of his deepest and most brutal tales yet.” Nicholas Sansbury Smith, New York Times bestselling author of the Hell Divers series

“Impassioned…A powerful message. Military fantasy readers will find plenty to enjoy.” Publishers Weekly

“This blistering and bloodthirsty war story is effortlessly readable…Perfect for fans of grimdark fantasy, where the pages are packed with visceral mayhem and mutinous conspiracy.” Library Journal

Details
More Information
Language English
Release Day Aug 7, 2023
Release Date August 8, 2023
Release Date Machine 1691452800
Imprint Blackstone Publishing
Provider Blackstone Publishing
Categories Science Fiction & Fantasy, Fantasy, Epic, Action & Adventure, Military
Author Bio
D.J. Molles

D.J. Molles is the New York Times bestselling author of the Remaining series and the bestselling Lee Harden series. When he’s not writing, he’s taking steps to make his North Carolina property self-sustainable, and training to be at least half as hard to kill as Lee Harden. He also enjoys playing his guitar and drums, drawing and creating things, loving on his dogs, and spending time with his wife and three children.

Narrator Bio
Theo Solomon

Theo Solomon is an Earphones Award-winning narrator who has worked extensively on stage, on screen, and behind the mic. He has performed across London and Nottingham, and his television work includes roles on Temple and Enterprice.

Overview

Finalist for the Voice Arts Award in Fantasy
A Transfer Orbit Pick of This Month's Books to Look For 
An io9/Gizmodo Pick of the Month's New Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror

From New York Times bestselling author D.J. Molles comes a brand-new action-packed fantasy adventure that will leave you on the edge of your seat.

What is the price of magic? Not the magic of tricks and illusions, but the kind that heats cities, powers armies, and transforms continents. Magic that forges empires. The Brannic Empire owes its existence to this magic, and for those in power, no price is too great. Even when that price is their own children. For it is the ashes of those with magical abilities that the Church of Alchemy harvests to fuel this machine of empire. So the furnaces burn, and the empire grows. And they call it progress.

Trying to escape a lifetime of regrets—and outrun his own demons—veteran soldier Lochled Thatcher embarks on the Fourth Crusade to Leftland, a country rich in magic. Desperate to save her brothers, Rony joins Lochled’s squad only to discover that war is very different from all the songs and fancy speeches. As politics and power clash, Kayna, a Seeker, and Ord, a priest of the Church of Alchemy, find their foundations of loyalty and faith shaken and crumbling. In this theater of chaos, magic, and treachery, soldier and priest alike will find their humanity in as much danger as their lives. Will they lose themselves to cruelty and deception? Or can one good action reverse the course of generations of evil?

A bold, brutal look at war and belief, A Harvest of Ash and Blood is a sweeping epic fantasy perfect for fans of The Witcher and Joe Abercrombie.