The Body Below

Daniel Hecht

Bronson Pinchot (Narrator) and Elisabeth Rodgers (Narrator)

08-29-23

16hrs 2min

Abridgement

Unabridged

Genre

Fiction/Thrillers

As low as $16.99

Ships within 1-2 business days (In Stock)

Ships within 1-2 business days when available

Free shipping (UPS Ground)

Play Audio Sample

08-29-23

16hrs 2min

Abridgement

Unabridged

Genre

Fiction/Thrillers

Description

“The Body Below instantly ensnares you with a frightening premise, small-town intrigue, family drama, and traps galore. Daniel Hecht writes with unflinching honesty and authenticity. Here are the real Vermont and real people you’ll remember long after you’ve stayed up late flipping to the last page.”  Sarah Strohmeyer, bestselling author of Do I Know You?

A WOWSA Pick for Open-Water Swimmers

From USA Today bestselling author Daniel Hecht, The Body Below takes the reader on an uneasy quest for the nature of truth and who gets to tell it. Perfect for fans of In the Woods by Tana French and The Paris Apartment by Lucy Foley.

Conn Whitman’s long-distance swims keep him centered and sane—until a terrifying underwater encounter in a woodland lake plunges him into the middle of a murder investigation.

Once a superstar investigative reporter, disgraced by misconduct, Conn returned to his Vermont hometown to put his life back together. Now, after ten years on the job, he knows his community like nobody else. So, when he kicks a submerged object while swimming—something with the density and resilience of human flesh—he immediately wonders if it’s connected to an unsolved murder in a nearby town.

Detective Marlene Selanski is the lead on the State Police investigation and soon locks horns with Conn. It’s clear she considers him a suspect and believes his “vigilante research” is interfering with her investigation. Defying Selanski, Conn and his fiancée Celine Gabrielli combine their talents—his decade of journalistic research, her PhD in psychology and wealth of knowledge on the traditions of Vermont’s old villages—to seek answers on their own.

As layers of deception peel away, Conn and Celine realize too late the dangers of amateur sleuthing—murder disrupts lives in unexpected ways, sending out ripples and bringing long-hidden secrets to the surface.

Praise

“The Body Below instantly ensnares you with a frightening premise, small-town intrigue, family drama, and traps galore. Daniel Hecht writes with unflinching honesty and authenticity. Here are the real Vermont and real people you’ll remember long after you’ve stayed up late flipping to the last page.”  Sarah Strohmeyer, bestselling author of Do I Know You?

“Damn. Good. Book. Daniel Hecht’s The Body Below plunges deep beneath the placid waters of the present to confront the murkier water below the surface…This finely wrought murder mystery shows the reader the wisdom that comes when a search for the truth takes aim at a distant shore. Get ready to dive in!” Glenn Stout, New York Times bestselling author  

“With The Body Below, Daniel Hecht returns to what he does best: crafting a terrific mystery novel. Gripping, complex, literate, it’s a compelling story that builds to an explosive climax. Based on true events, this superb psychological thriller will have you turning pages as quickly as you can read them. Don’t miss The Body Below!” Rick Bleiweiss, award-winning and bestselling author of Pignon Scorbion & the Barbershop Detectives

“The Body Below is a first-rate mystery—beautifully written, compelling, and suspenseful—that grabbed me from the beginning and wouldn’t let go!” Thomas Christopher Greene, author of The Headmaster’s Wife 

“A soulful, improbable, and ultimately cathartic plunge into the depths.” Kirkus Reviews

“By the second page, I was horrified and hooked…Hecht explores the complications of love, concepts of justice, the many layers of motivation, betrayal and loss, healing and forgiveness. How well do you really know someone you love? Who can you trust?” Montpelier (VT) Bridge

+ More
Details
More Information
Language English
Release Day Aug 28, 2023
Release Date August 29, 2023
Release Date Machine 1693267200
Imprint Blackstone Publishing
Provider Blackstone Publishing
Categories Mystery, Thriller & Suspense
Author Bio
Daniel Hecht

Daniel Hecht is a writer and nonprofit development consultant. He earned an MFA from the Iowa Writers Workshop and is a graduate of the elite Henry F. Williams Homicide Seminar, presented by the New York State Police. He took up long-distance open water swimming in Vermont’s lakes in 1980. His seven previous novels, published in the US and throughout the world, include bestsellers in the US, England, Holland, and Israel.

Narrator Bio
Bronson Pinchot

Bronson Pinchot, Audible’s Narrator of the Year for 2010, has won Publishers Weekly Listen-Up Awards, AudioFile Earphones Awards, Audible’s Book of the Year Award, and Audie Awards for several audiobooks, including Matterhorn, Wise Blood, Occupied City, and The Learners. A magna cum laude graduate of Yale, he is an Emmy- and People’s Choice-nominated veteran of movies, television, and Broadway and West End shows. His performance of Malvolio in Twelfth Night was named the highlight of the entire two-year Kennedy Center Shakespeare Festival by the Washington Post. He attended the acting programs at Shakespeare & Company and Circle-in-the-Square, logged in well over 200 episodes of television, starred or costarred in a bouquet of films, plays, musicals, and Shakespeare on Broadway and in London, and developed a passion for Greek revival architecture.

Elisabeth Rodgers

Elisabeth Rodgers is an actress and AudioFile Earphones Award–winning narrator. After graduating from Princeton University, she completed a two-year program at William Esper Studio, where she studied with Maggie Flanigan. Her audiobook narration training came from Robin Miles, who has also directed her in several productions. She has recorded dozens of books for a multitude of publishers.

Overview

A WOWSA Pick for Open-Water Swimmers

From USA Today bestselling author Daniel Hecht, The Body Below takes the reader on an uneasy quest for the nature of truth and who gets to tell it. Perfect for fans of In the Woods by Tana French and The Paris Apartment by Lucy Foley.

Conn Whitman’s long-distance swims keep him centered and sane—until a terrifying underwater encounter in a woodland lake plunges him into the middle of a murder investigation.

Once a superstar investigative reporter, disgraced by misconduct, Conn returned to his Vermont hometown to put his life back together. Now, after ten years on the job, he knows his community like nobody else. So, when he kicks a submerged object while swimming—something with the density and resilience of human flesh—he immediately wonders if it’s connected to an unsolved murder in a nearby town.

Detective Marlene Selanski is the lead on the State Police investigation and soon locks horns with Conn. It’s clear she considers him a suspect and believes his “vigilante research” is interfering with her investigation. Defying Selanski, Conn and his fiancée Celine Gabrielli combine their talents—his decade of journalistic research, her PhD in psychology and wealth of knowledge on the traditions of Vermont’s old villages—to seek answers on their own.

As layers of deception peel away, Conn and Celine realize too late the dangers of amateur sleuthing—murder disrupts lives in unexpected ways, sending out ripples and bringing long-hidden secrets to the surface.