The Nothing Man

Catherine Ryan Howard

Alana Kerr Collins (Narrator) and John Keating (Narrator)

08-04-20

9hrs 57min

Abridgement

Unabridged

Genre

Fiction/Thrillers

As low as $16.99

Ships within 1-2 business days (In Stock)

Ships within 1-2 business days when available

Free shipping (UPS Ground)

Play Audio Sample

08-04-20

9hrs 57min

Abridgement

Unabridged

Genre

Fiction/Thrillers

Description

“Gripping, beautifully written, and genuinely chilling, The Nothing Man had me from page one. Simply stellar.” Meg Gardiner, Edgar Award–winning author of The Dark Corners of the Night

Shortlisted for the Irish Book Award
Shortlisted for the CWA Ian Fleming Steel Dagger
A Strand Magazine Pick of Top 12 Mystery Novels of 2020
A BookRiot Pick of Irish Crime Fiction
An Amazon Editor’s Top Pick in Mystery, Thrillers & Suspense
A Crime Reads Pick of Books on Serial Killers
One of Amazon's 10 Highly Anticipated Mysteries and Thrillers of Summer
See All +

“Gripping, beautifully written, and genuinely chilling, The Nothing Man had me from page one. Simply stellar.”—Meg Gardiner, Edgar Award–winning author of The Dark Corners of the Night

I was the girl who survived the Nothing Man. Now I am the woman who is going to catch him …

At the age of twelve, Eve Black was the only member of her family to survive an encounter with serial attacker the Nothing Man. Now an adult, she is obsessed with identifying the man who destroyed her life.

Supermarket security guard Jim Doyle has just started reading The Nothing Man—the true-crime memoir Eve has written about her efforts to track down her family’s killer. As he turns each page, his rage grows. Because Jim’s not just interested in reading about the Nothing Man. He is the Nothing Man.

Jim soon begins to realize how dangerously close Eve is getting to the truth. He knows she won’t give up until she finds him. He has no choice but to stop her first …

Praise

“Gripping, beautifully written, and genuinely chilling, The Nothing Man had me from page one. Simply stellar.” Meg Gardiner, Edgar Award–winning author of The Dark Corners of the Night

“The Nothing Man is the most original and chilling thriller I’ve read in a long time, and is perfect for fans of Serial and The Fall.” Mark Edwards, bestselling author of The House Guest

“Expertly crafted—storytelling at its best.” Patricia Gibney, bestselling author of The Missing Ones

“A book to steal your waking hours and haunt your sleeping ones. Chilling and brilliant.” Cass Green, award-winning author of In a Cottage in a Wood

“The queen of high-concept crime fiction strikes again: this is the first novel I’ve read that really captures the chills and twists of the true crime that obsesses us. Catherine Ryan Howard has always been thrillingly good at what she does, but she’s just getting better and better with every book.” Jane Casey, author of the Maeve Kerrigan novels

“I was truly blown away and couldn’t read it fast enough. I can’t shower it with enough praise. Terrifying, brilliantly plotted, and extremely satisfying.” Jo Spain, bestselling author of With Our Blessing

“Utterly compelling, completely original, The Nothing Man will be the standout novel for 2020. This is a book you won’t forget as Catherine Ryan Howard brings crime writing to a new level.” Sam Blake, bestselling author of Little Bones

“Whip-smart, thrilling, and utterly compelling.” Liz Nugent, bestselling author of Lying in Wait

“Fiendishly clever…Howard uses serial killer tropes in original and surprising ways in this tour de force.” Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“This is probably one of the best books I ever read…I absolutely loved the book within a book format…The author did a fantastic job, and if you are a fan of Meg Gardiner, which I am, you will love this book.” Seattle Book Review

“[A] compulsive thriller…Those familiar with Michelle McNamara’s I’ll Be Gone in the Dark, which inspired Howard, may spot similarities between the Nothing Man and the real-life Golden State Killer, but Howard (nominated for an Edgar for The Liar’s Girl) takes her story in other directions. The Nothing Man is an ingenious nesting doll, revealing surprises in alternating chapters from Eve’s book and those from the killer’s point of view as he reads said book. Howard can paint moving depictions of grief and survivor’s guilt while terrifying readers and making them triple-check the locks on their doors. This isn’t nothing; it’s the author’s best work yet.” Shelf Awareness (starred review)

“It might be cliché to say that a strong storytelling tradition runs in Irish genes, but…Cork native and current Dubliner Catherine Ryan Howard would seem to be indicative of this…This juxtaposition of predator and prey—and the underlying question of just who is which—renders the stakes breathtakingly high. It’s a clever, meta construct—and one the author fully, and frankly, embraces…The Nothing Man is clearly influenced by Michelle McNamara’s I’ll Be Gone In The Dark…but don’t be mistaken: it’s still very much a work of fiction, albeit one that’s grounded in the realities of crime, recidivism, and victimization. The Nothing Man himself may be quite ordinary, but Catherine Ryan Howard’s book-within-a-book is anything but.” Strand Magazine

+ More
Details
More Information
Language English
Release Day Aug 3, 2020
Release Date August 4, 2020
Release Date Machine 1596499200
Imprint Blackstone Publishing
Provider Blackstone Publishing
Categories New in Paperback, Black Friday Sale, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Literature & Fiction, Thriller & Suspense, Suspense, Crime Thrillers
Author Bio
Catherine Ryan Howard

Catherine Ryan Howard is an internationally bestselling crime writer from Cork, Ireland. Her work has been shortlisted for the Mystery Writers of America Edgar Award for Best Novel, the Crime Writers Association (UK) John Creasey/New Blood and Ian Fleming Steel Dagger Awards, and the An Post Irish Crime Fiction Book of the Year multiple times. Her novels had been included in the New York Times Best Thrillers of the Year, the Washington Post’s Best Mysteries and Thrillers of the Year, and the New York Public Library’s Best Books for Adults. Obsession, the TV adaptation of Catherine’s fifth novel, the number one bestseller 56 Days, will debut exclusively on Amazon Prime Video. She lives in Dublin.

Narrator Bio
Alana Kerr Collins

Alana Kerr Collins is an Earphones Award–winning audiobook narrator. She is also an actor, puppeteer, and singer who studied at the Impulse Company in London and earned a BA in drama and English at the University of Dublin, Trinity College. She starred in the short films Rachel 9000, The Deal, and Veritas and has appeared in several television series, including Emu and Big City Park.

John Keating

John Keating is an actor, voice talent, and AudioFile Earphones Award–winning narrator. His numerous acting credits include Roundabout Theatre’s production of Juno and the Paycock and La Mama ETC’s production of Cat and the Moon, as well as various parts with the Irish Repertory Theater and the Irish Arts Center. He can also be seen in the HBO miniseries John Adams, starring Paul Giamatti and Laura Linney.

Overview

Shortlisted for the Irish Book Award
Shortlisted for the CWA Ian Fleming Steel Dagger
A Strand Magazine Pick of Top 12 Mystery Novels of 2020
A BookRiot Pick of Irish Crime Fiction
An Amazon Editor’s Top Pick in Mystery, Thrillers & Suspense
A Crime Reads Pick of Books on Serial Killers
One of Amazon's 10 Highly Anticipated Mysteries and Thrillers of Summer
See All +

“Gripping, beautifully written, and genuinely chilling, The Nothing Man had me from page one. Simply stellar.”—Meg Gardiner, Edgar Award–winning author of The Dark Corners of the Night

I was the girl who survived the Nothing Man. Now I am the woman who is going to catch him …

At the age of twelve, Eve Black was the only member of her family to survive an encounter with serial attacker the Nothing Man. Now an adult, she is obsessed with identifying the man who destroyed her life.

Supermarket security guard Jim Doyle has just started reading The Nothing Man—the true-crime memoir Eve has written about her efforts to track down her family’s killer. As he turns each page, his rage grows. Because Jim’s not just interested in reading about the Nothing Man. He is the Nothing Man.

Jim soon begins to realize how dangerously close Eve is getting to the truth. He knows she won’t give up until she finds him. He has no choice but to stop her first …