The Seminarian

Hart Hanson

05-21-24

Abridgement

Unabridged

Genre

Fiction/Mystery & Detective

As low as $16.99

Ships within 1-2 business days (In Stock)

Ships within 1-2 business days when available

Free shipping (UPS Ground)

05-21-24

Abridgement

Unabridged

Genre

Fiction/Mystery & Detective

Description

“If you like your detectives hard-boiled but with a redeeming soft center then step forward Xavier Priest, your newest PI hero. In The Seminarian, Hart Hanson has sent his gloriously unforgettable characters into a wondrously twisty-turny mystery that the reader will never want to end. More please!” Stephen Fry

From the creator of the TV show Bones, The Seminarian is a twisty murder mystery perfect for fans of Janet Evanovich and Carl Hiaasen.

Xavier “Priest” Priestly is a snarky former seminarian turned private investigator. Dusty Queen is a hard-as-nails professional stuntwoman and freelance bodyguard. When Dusty’s girlfriend suddenly disappears, a woman in a strange blue wig tries to assassinate Priest, and a twelve-year-old boy shows up claiming to be his son, the two friends are thrown into a maelstrom of intrigue and high-stakes violence that’s as convoluted and dangerous as it is hilarious.

Thankfully, Priest and Dusty don’t have to navigate these tangled mysteries alone. Aided by a lawyer, who’s underwhelmed by their extra-legal methods; a straight-laced detective, who doesn’t trust them as far as he can throw them; and Priest’s father, a notorious bank robber, they are well equipped to deal with potential kidnapping and attempted murder. But whether Priest is up to the challenge of a son with a gun, a backpack full of weed, and a major attitude problem … well, that’s a different story.

With its unforgettable cast, parade of twists and turns, and breakneck pace, The Seminarian showcases Hart Hanson at his best. Packed with action and glistening with snappy dialogue, surprising tenderness, and (mostly) good people doing some exceptionally bad things, this distinctive thriller is as entertaining as it is insightful.

Praise

“If you like your detectives hard-boiled but with a redeeming soft center then step forward Xavier Priest, your newest PI hero. In The Seminarian, Hart Hanson has sent his gloriously unforgettable characters into a wondrously twisty-turny mystery that the reader will never want to end. More please!” Stephen Fry

“The Seminarian is a fast-paced crime thriller with smart, snarky characters and a deep affection for Venice Beach culture. Hanson has hit his stride on this one, I hope we see more of Xavier Priestly and the gang. Highly recommended.” Christopher Moore, New York Times bestselling author of Lamb, Noir, and Razzmatazz

“Masterfully crafted…Hanson returns with another wildly funny ride.” Harlan Coben, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Run Away

Details
More Information
Language English
Release Day May 20, 2024
Release Date May 21, 2024
Release Date Machine 1716249600
Imprint Blackstone Publishing
Provider Blackstone Publishing
Categories Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Mystery, Private Investigators, Hard-Boiled, Coming Soon
Author Bio
Hart Hanson
Hart Hanson wrote for Canadian television before moving to Los Angeles, where he worked on various TV programs before creating the series Bones, the longest-running scripted hour-long series on the FOX network. Married with two sons, Hart lives with his wife, Brigitte, in Venice, California. The Driver is his first novel.

Overview

From the creator of the TV show Bones, The Seminarian is a twisty murder mystery perfect for fans of Janet Evanovich and Carl Hiaasen.

Xavier “Priest” Priestly is a snarky former seminarian turned private investigator. Dusty Queen is a hard-as-nails professional stuntwoman and freelance bodyguard. When Dusty’s girlfriend suddenly disappears, a woman in a strange blue wig tries to assassinate Priest, and a twelve-year-old boy shows up claiming to be his son, the two friends are thrown into a maelstrom of intrigue and high-stakes violence that’s as convoluted and dangerous as it is hilarious.

Thankfully, Priest and Dusty don’t have to navigate these tangled mysteries alone. Aided by a lawyer, who’s underwhelmed by their extra-legal methods; a straight-laced detective, who doesn’t trust them as far as he can throw them; and Priest’s father, a notorious bank robber, they are well equipped to deal with potential kidnapping and attempted murder. But whether Priest is up to the challenge of a son with a gun, a backpack full of weed, and a major attitude problem … well, that’s a different story.

With its unforgettable cast, parade of twists and turns, and breakneck pace, The Seminarian showcases Hart Hanson at his best. Packed with action and glistening with snappy dialogue, surprising tenderness, and (mostly) good people doing some exceptionally bad things, this distinctive thriller is as entertaining as it is insightful.