The Seminarian

Hart Hanson

Evan Sibley (Narrator)

05-21-24

9hrs 56min

Abridgement

Unabridged

Genre

Fiction/Mystery & Detective

As low as $16.99

Ships within 1-2 business days (In Stock)

Ships within 1-2 business days when available

Free shipping (UPS Ground)

Play Audio Sample

05-21-24

9hrs 56min

Abridgement

Unabridged

Genre

Fiction/Mystery & Detective

Description

“If you like your detectives hard-boiled but with a redeeming soft center then step forward Xavier Priest, your newest PI hero. In The Seminarian, Hart Hanson has sent his gloriously unforgettable characters into a wondrously twisty-turny mystery that the reader will never want to end. More please!” Stephen Fry

A Criminal Element Pick of Most Anticipated 2024 Books

From the creator of the TV show Bones, The Seminarian is a twisty murder mystery perfect for fans of Janet Evanovich and Carl Hiaasen.

Xavier “Priest” Priestly is a snarky former seminarian turned private investigator. Dusty Queen is a hard-as-nails professional stuntwoman and freelance bodyguard. When Dusty’s girlfriend suddenly disappears, a woman in a strange blue wig tries to assassinate Priest, and a twelve-year-old boy shows up claiming to be his son, the two friends are thrown into a maelstrom of intrigue and high-stakes violence that’s as convoluted and dangerous as it is hilarious.

Thankfully, Priest and Dusty don’t have to navigate these tangled mysteries alone. Aided by a lawyer who’s underwhelmed by their extra-legal methods, a straight-laced detective who doesn’t trust them as far as he can throw them, and Priest’s father, a notorious bank robber, they are well equipped to deal with potential kidnapping and attempted murder. But whether Priest is up to the challenge of a son with a gun, a backpack full of weed, and a major attitude problem … well, that’s a different story.

With its unforgettable cast, parade of twists and turns, and breakneck pace, The Seminarian showcases Hart Hanson at his best. Packed with action and glistening with snappy dialogue, surprising tenderness, and (mostly) good people doing some exceptionally bad things, this distinctive thriller is as entertaining as it is insightful.

Praise

“If you like your detectives hard-boiled but with a redeeming soft center then step forward Xavier Priest, your newest PI hero. In The Seminarian, Hart Hanson has sent his gloriously unforgettable characters into a wondrously twisty-turny mystery that the reader will never want to end. More please!” Stephen Fry

“The Seminarian is a fast-paced crime thriller with smart, snarky characters and a deep affection for Venice Beach culture. Hanson has hit his stride on this one, I hope we see more of Xavier Priestly and the gang. Highly recommended.” Christopher Moore, New York Times bestselling author of Lamb, Noir, and Razzmatazz

“Masterfully crafted…Hanson returns with another wildly funny ride.” Harlan Coben, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Run Away

“Fast-paced, witty, and ebullient, The Seminarian is a thoroughly satisfying mystery with a thoughtful heart. It’s a joy to spend time with Xavier Priestly and his crew.” Meg Gardiner, #1 New York Times bestselling author

“A study in contrasts, this book is by turns bloody, gritty, and violent, heartwarming, thought-provoking, and laugh-out-loud funny. An unusual, inventive, unforgettable read that will appeal to mystery aficionados looking for something different.” Booklist (starred review)

“The creator and writer of the TV show Bones introduces a wacky cast of characters in his second fast-paced, action-packed novel. For fans of Tim Dorsey’s Serge A. Storms novels.” Library Journal

“Cool and stylish, witty and urbane. The Seminarian is riotous fun—a winning combination of colorful characters engaged in knotty mysteries, all taking place against a Venice Beach backdrop so vividly described I could almost feel the sand under my toes and smell the weed on the air.” Chris Ewan, #1 bestselling author of Safe House 

“The Seminarian is as wild, irreverent, dangerous, grimy, kinky, and purely Californian as its Venice Beach setting. The characters are so bright, colorful, and vivid that you’ll need sunglasses to read this delightfully wacky and wild crime novel. If you love Carl Hiaasen and Tim Dorsey, this sly, over-the-top romp is a must-read.” Lee Goldberg, #1 New York Times bestselling author

“A goddamn delight…It’s been a long time since I’ve actually read a new PI novel this surprising and fun.” Christopher Farnsworth, author of Killfile, The Eternal World, and Blood Oath

“The Seminarian has unique and engaging characters, hilarious dialogue, and a twisty plot. I love this book!” Kathy Reichs, author of the Temperance Brennan series

“The reader [is] highly entertained by the off-center, colorful world Hanson’s created, overflowing with rat-a-tat dialogue and deadpan humor. An audacious and auspicious novel.” Kirkus Reviews

“This fast and furious thriller is destined to keep you guessing.” Crime Fiction Lover

+ More
Details
More Information
Language English
Release Day May 20, 2024
Release Date May 21, 2024
Release Date Machine 1716249600
Imprint Blackstone Publishing
Provider Blackstone Publishing
Categories Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Mystery, Literature & Fiction, Private Investigators, Hard-Boiled, Coming Soon, Trending Mystery & Detetive
Author Bio
Hart Hanson
Hart Hanson wrote for Canadian television before moving to Los Angeles, where he worked on various TV programs before creating the series Bones, the longest-running scripted hour-long series on the FOX network. Married with two sons, Hart lives with his wife, Brigitte, in Venice, California. The Driver is his first novel.
Narrator Bio

Overview

A Criminal Element Pick of Most Anticipated 2024 Books

From the creator of the TV show Bones, The Seminarian is a twisty murder mystery perfect for fans of Janet Evanovich and Carl Hiaasen.

Xavier “Priest” Priestly is a snarky former seminarian turned private investigator. Dusty Queen is a hard-as-nails professional stuntwoman and freelance bodyguard. When Dusty’s girlfriend suddenly disappears, a woman in a strange blue wig tries to assassinate Priest, and a twelve-year-old boy shows up claiming to be his son, the two friends are thrown into a maelstrom of intrigue and high-stakes violence that’s as convoluted and dangerous as it is hilarious.

Thankfully, Priest and Dusty don’t have to navigate these tangled mysteries alone. Aided by a lawyer who’s underwhelmed by their extra-legal methods, a straight-laced detective who doesn’t trust them as far as he can throw them, and Priest’s father, a notorious bank robber, they are well equipped to deal with potential kidnapping and attempted murder. But whether Priest is up to the challenge of a son with a gun, a backpack full of weed, and a major attitude problem … well, that’s a different story.

With its unforgettable cast, parade of twists and turns, and breakneck pace, The Seminarian showcases Hart Hanson at his best. Packed with action and glistening with snappy dialogue, surprising tenderness, and (mostly) good people doing some exceptionally bad things, this distinctive thriller is as entertaining as it is insightful.