Unbound

Christy Healy

Alison McKenna (Narrator) and Gary Furlong (Narrator)

01-16-24

15hrs 20min

Abridgement

Unabridged

Genre

Fiction/Fantasy

As low as $16.99

Ships within 1-2 business days (In Stock)

Ships within 1-2 business days when available

Free shipping (UPS Ground)

Play Audio Sample

01-16-24

15hrs 20min

Abridgement

Unabridged

Genre

Fiction/Fantasy

Description

“Unbound is a decadent eldritch fairy tale that ensnares the reader in its dark and tangled web. Healy’s sumptuous prose brings Celtic myths to life and retains a dreamlike quality even while plunging into the nightmares that lurk within the human heart. Hurray for monstrous protagonists and the men that love them!”  Thea Guanzon, author of The Hurricane Wars

A Cullman Times Pick
A Tor.com Pick of the Month's Fantasy Books
A Gizmodo Pick of Sci-Fi, Fantasy & Horror Books to Start the Year
A Locus Magazine Pick of the Week's New Books 
A Goodreads Pick of Debut Novels
A Nerd Daily Pick of Most Anticipated Fantasy & Sci Fi Books
A Winter Is Coming Choice of the Month's Science Fiction & Fantasy 
A Jump Scares Pick of the Month's New Horror Books
See All +

For fans of Hannah Whitten and Rebecca Ross, Unbound is a gender-bent reimagining of the classic tale of a monstrous beast and the beauty determined to tame it, set against the lush backdrop of Irish mythology and folklore.

Rozlyn Ó Conchúir is used to waiting—waiting for the king, her father, to relent and allow her to leave the solitude of her tower; waiting for the dreaded and mysterious Beast of Connacht to at last be defeated; waiting for the arrival of the man destined to win her heart and break the terrible curse placed on her and her land. So when she meets Jamie—a charming and compelling suitor—she allows herself to hope that her days of solitude and patience are over at long last.

But as she finds her trust betrayed—and newer, more sinister threats arising—Rozlyn learns that some curses are better left unbroken …

Praise

“Unbound is a decadent eldritch fairy tale that ensnares the reader in its dark and tangled web. Healy’s sumptuous prose brings Celtic myths to life and retains a dreamlike quality even while plunging into the nightmares that lurk within the human heart. Hurray for monstrous protagonists and the men that love them!”  Thea Guanzon, author of The Hurricane Wars

“A heartfelt story of monsters and myth, love and curses, and a heroine coming into her own ferocious power. Readers who love thorny, twisted romance and Celtic legend will be enchanted by Unbound.” H. G. Parry, bestselling author of The Magician’s Daughter

“The worldbuilding is fun and the tense, charged relationship between Jamie and Rozlyn keeps the pages turning…Healy should win some fans with this one.” Publishers Weekly

“The resulting tale, told in chapters alternating between Rozlyn’s and Jamie’s points of view, is a delightful amalgamation that readers will find familiar but that stands on its own as a delightful, heart-clenching story of love and betrayal. An impressive feat of worldbuilding full of unexpected twists for fans of monstrous women.” Kirkus Reviews

“Steeped in Irish folklore and mythology, Healy’s tale grabs readers by the hand, guiding them on a journey filled with delicious, gut-wrenching twists and turns…An excellent read for anyone who has an appetite for fairy tales, folklore, monsters, and stories with women protagonists who stand firmly rooted in their own strength.” Library Journal

Details
More Information
Language English
Release Day Jan 15, 2024
Release Date January 16, 2024
Release Date Machine 1705363200
Imprint Blackstone Publishing
Provider Blackstone Publishing
Categories Science Fiction & Fantasy, Fantasy, Fairy Tales, Paranormal & Urban, Historical, Romantic, New Releases
Author Bio
Christy Healy

Christy Healy has been a book nerd ever since she was a little girl hiding under the covers with a flashlight and a dog-eared copy of Anne of Green Gables. She started writing soon after, and the obsession only grew. Now Christy weaves stories of her own into the myths and tales of the Celtic, Indo-European, and Greco-Roman worlds that she has loved for so long. When not lost in her fantasy worlds, she lives in North Carolina with her children, her dog, and her husband.

Narrator Bio
Alison McKenna

Alison McKenna is an actress and producer from the United Kingdom. In addition to film, television, and stage acting, she has narrated the audiobooks Paula Spencer by Roddy Doyle and The Gathering by Anne Enright.

Gary Furlong

Gary Furlong grew up in Wexford, Ireland. Throughout his life he has worn many hats working as a teacher, puppeteer, improv artist, actor, and singer. He can perform in general British, general American, and an Irish accent to a native level and can speak Japanese fluently. He now works full time as an audiobook narrator and voice actor from his home in Ireland.

Overview

A Cullman Times Pick
A Tor.com Pick of the Month's Fantasy Books
A Gizmodo Pick of Sci-Fi, Fantasy & Horror Books to Start the Year
A Locus Magazine Pick of the Week's New Books 
A Goodreads Pick of Debut Novels
A Nerd Daily Pick of Most Anticipated Fantasy & Sci Fi Books
A Winter Is Coming Choice of the Month's Science Fiction & Fantasy 
A Jump Scares Pick of the Month's New Horror Books
See All +

For fans of Hannah Whitten and Rebecca Ross, Unbound is a gender-bent reimagining of the classic tale of a monstrous beast and the beauty determined to tame it, set against the lush backdrop of Irish mythology and folklore.

Rozlyn Ó Conchúir is used to waiting—waiting for the king, her father, to relent and allow her to leave the solitude of her tower; waiting for the dreaded and mysterious Beast of Connacht to at last be defeated; waiting for the arrival of the man destined to win her heart and break the terrible curse placed on her and her land. So when she meets Jamie—a charming and compelling suitor—she allows herself to hope that her days of solitude and patience are over at long last.

But as she finds her trust betrayed—and newer, more sinister threats arising—Rozlyn learns that some curses are better left unbroken …